Toy market news

The Toy Association reveals 2022 Toy Industry Hall of Fame inductees

The Toy Industry Hall of Fame will induct four industry legends into its ranks for 2022

Following a month of voting and consideration, The Toy Association revealed two living legends and a pair of posthumous inductees. Jim Pressman, former president of Pressman Toy Corp. and  Bob Wann, Chief PlayMonster at PlayMonster LLC were nominated and selected by members of The Toy Association in honour of their lasting contributions to the toy industry. Pressman and Wann will join icons, including Milton Bradley, Joan Ganz Cooney, Walt Disney, Ruth Handler, Jim Henson, George Lucas, and Stan Lee in the Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame Subcommittee on Posthumous Selection chose the late Johnny Gruelle, creator of Raggedy Ann and Andy; and the late Lucille King, founder of the Playskool Institute for induction next year.

Since 1984, the Toy Industry Hall of Fame has honoured outstanding individuals who have made impactful contributions to the toy industry and The Toy Association. Last year, Philip Bloom, founder and former publisher, The Bloom Report; William C. Killgallon, chairman of the board, The Ohio Art Company; and Pleasant T. Rowland: founder, American Girl, a division of Mattel, were inducted alongside posthumous inductee Margarete Steiff (1847-1909), founder of Steiff Toys.

The 2022 Hall of Fame induction will take place during The Toy Foundation’s 2022 Toy of the Year (TOTY) Awards on Friday, Feb. 18, 2022, at the New York Marriott Marquis to kick off Toy Fair New York.